Music Soothes The Savage Breast Or Something Along That Line

Mother’s Day has come and almost gone. My mom passed away several years ago. I don’t miss her much on this date but there are other times I miss her bunches. I went to Prairie Grove United Methodist Church this morning. I went to the early service and got to see several friends from the past. It was nice and there wasn’t a big mother’s day sermon and that was really great. I don’t do mother’s day or father’s day very well since my divorce. No one’s fault but my own. I don’t want a flower to give to a sweet heart or a book on how to be a dad or save a marriage. Mathew, the Pastor, does a good job. I went to Fayetteville to eat and see Iron Man 3. Good movie. Well, where is the music part huh.
Sunday afternoons and especially to day there was nothing on I wanted to watch, BORING. 2 things I could do, read a book, which would have put me to sleep.Or Get on Pandora and find some music to listen too. I love music, any kind of music. Even heavy metal or rap sometimes. Soul is my favorite secular music. 60s and 70s mostly. Platters, Ray Charles, to the Stylistics and the Temptations, to The Bee Gees and Donna Summer and Earth Wind and Fire. It is all great. Why because it makes my soul dance and my feet tap, and my head bob. Country is good especially George Strait, New Age Mannheim SteamRoller, Classics , Beethoven, and Bach all good. But those can’t compare to Boogies Shoes which is on now or Stayin Alive. When I lay my head on the pillow tonight one of these many songs will probably be in my head and lull me to sleep.
Have a blessed week and keep the Fath.

Leave a Reply

