Duluth Vacation

This has been too long since my last post. I have gotten the summer lazies I think. 

 Since I have last been on here I have been to Duluth MN.  taken my friend Danny to see his mom and dad in MT. Grove MO. and just recently bought a pick up. 

  Being 60 and banged up like I am I now, I take 2 days to get to Duluth. I spend the night in Des Moines  Ia. Then I have 8 hours to get to Duluth. The last 2 hours were really rough. My body was aching and I was tired. I sang [ real loud ] made up stupid names from highway signs and yelled a lot. I also did a of of praying so I wouldn’t fall asleep. I usually don’t drive like that but I wanted to end the trip.  Duluth for me is a great place to vacation. It is always cooler there than Siloam and this year it hit 81 2 days. It did rain a few times but we got our fishing in and it never stopped us from doing something. Well I got skunked fishing. First time for up there.  I can’t go in a canoe because my back will give out so we fish from the shore.  I need to stop here and tell who I stayed with. Jerry and Roxie Kaldor were my host. I have known them since the mid 70s. I have been visiting them since 1980.

 Duluth is right on the edge of Lake Superior. It is a very pretty lake and very huge. Duluth was a timber and Iron ore town.  Some Iron ore still shipped but things are more diverse now. Huge Great Lake ships carry the ore, grain and other loads down to other points along the lakes. We also had grand kids over a few times Solomon and Ezra. Ages 6 and 4. Great kids. 

 I was able to do my gift buying while there and Jerry and I saw The Lone Ranger. Not a great movie but entertaining.  They belong to a Vineyard church and Duluth has 2. A large one near theirImage home and a smaller one they help with  a few miles down the road from them. I hope I can keep on visiting them. It is always a joy to do so.  Well I am going to finish this one now and start another later to day. I hope. 

Leave a Reply

