Funerals

There isn’t ever a great time to write or discuss this topic. I have been to 2 funerals this past week. I went to a young man’s from church last Wednesday. He had a young family left at home and it was a shock to everyone close to him. Second was a mother of a friend. Didn’t know her well but good friends with the daughter and her husband. 2 different but yet the same ceremonies. Brandon the young man had a memorial service at JBU Cathedral. A lot of people showed up and it took an hour to have. It was very nice and well done. The other was a day later at a small chapel in Rogers. Again a very nice service but short and very touching. She had a few friends from church there and the rest were friends of the family.
Both were very nicely done and fit the person whom they honored.
I remember the first I went to was my grandfathers. My papa. It was hard on me for several reasons. First to lose such a loved one is always hard. I had family but I didn’t know who to talk to or how to ease my pain. I hope I have learned enough to look for young ones and be a comforter if need be. We had a church service, then at the grave site the Masons had a short ceremony. I had no idea what a Mason was but I know I didn’t like it but they were trying to be nice.
I am not going to retell all that I have been to so don’t worry about that. The hardest are always when it is a young person taken much too young. I have been to too many of them. The really hard part is not knowing if they had Christ as their Savior. Some didn’t but I am to the point where I feel it isn’t right to bring that up. This should be a time of comfort for the family and friends. Bring it up whether right or wrong and you will have bitter people leave the service.
My mom and dad are gone as well as all my aunts and uncles. My cousins and family are getting up in years and it isn’t pleasant to think about but our time is coming. I hope everyone will be ready but you know some aren’t. Prayers before hand will do more good than shaking your head wondering after the service. Well I have probably spent too much time on this but this is a little more about me I thought I ought to share. If it was too close to losing some one, my apologies. Leave a message if you want, Thanks BEN

Leave a Reply

