When I look in the mirror

When I look in a Mirror who do I see? Do I really see me? Where did I go? Does my belly really have to show? The gray I can see but the hair where did it flee. When I look in a mirror is that really me.

My poem will be short because it was harder than I thought, to rhyme words, see my brain is shot. Every one changes and we all can’t do what we did 20, 30 years ago. I can’t do what I did 10 years ago.  Does this make me sad? Sure it does some but I know I can’t do anything about it. So like most I have to adjust. I have to drive the 1/4 mile to the post office instead of walk. I take more pills than I ever thought I would. But if you look at it differently that is only a small part of a person. Yes an important part but I think the other 2 are more important. What am I talking about , Body, Mind, and Soul or Spirit. We all have seen the pics or words telling how we came not able to take care of ourselves and we may leave the same way. I don’t have a problem with that. I don’t really like it but there is absolutely nothing I or you can do about it. Whether we live to 65 or 105 , whether we can drive when we reach 90 or talk at 80 doesn’t really mean anything.  That is the course we have been given.

I have seen some things on Facebook about how we should or shouldn’t live our lives. The one where the lady did every thing right in her life but got all these thing that you think she would  never get. Then the old man that ate bacon and butter all his life and lived to be 90.  The moral is live your life to the fullest while you can. But that isn’t true. We should all lead full lives but this moral is more like Eat, Drink and be Merry for tomorrow you may die. That is stupidity. This is in Luke about the rich fool. 16-21

6Then He told them a parable: “The ground of a certain rich man produced an abundance. 17So he thought to himself, ‘What shall I do, since I have nowhere to store my crops?’ 18Then he said, ‘This is what I will do: I will tear down my barns and will build bigger ones, and there I will store up all my grain and my goods. 19Then I will say to myself, “You have plenty of good things laid up for many years. Take it easy. Eat, drink, and be merry!”’

20But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be required of you. Then who will own what you have accumulated?’

21This is how it will be for anyone who stores up treasure for himself but is not rich toward God.”

Or the scriptures in Mathew about worrying. 6:25-34. These passages aren’t saying to be care free and do as you wish or how your friends act. They say depend on the Lord. Then no matter how your body is when you get to be 63, like I have, that is only a physical and the physical is dying. . The mind can always grow and be expanded. Yes I know people that have dementia. But they still have the spirit. Jesus is what makes the spirit grow. Always from the day we accept Him as Lord. Whether it be 5, 17, or 85. We can grow in Jesus. Whether our bodies are only a shell of what they were in our youth or our minds can’t remember this morning, our spirits grow. Do I have proof, no, but I have faith. I have faith to trust in the Father that He is always with us. I have faith that when we are gone we will be changed.  We will have bodies and minds that will never decay.  Sorry too long but I really felt the need to share.    BEN C.  Please feel free to comment.

Leave a Reply

